Bersa Pistol Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After three trips back to the Attorney General office to bring more documents not specified in the application, I picked up my permit today. Two weeks ago, I received a letter that said my application was denied because of lack of need. In reality, they just wanted more information but didn't say so in the letter. Had I not appealed the decision and requested an appointment, it would have been a dead issue. It appears that they have only one form letter. The whole approval process took about 7 weeks and cost me over $300. I'm good for four years.
I went directly home, slipped my Bersa Thunder 380 into an IWB holster, and took the bride out for lunch. There's a nice feeling knowing you have a tool that you hope to never use.
Carry on!
:cool:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,043 Posts
Congratulation on your new CC permit use it with pride.... Hope you enjoyed lunch with the wife.

:cool:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,043 Posts
Not in Texas. Here you have a God given right to own a gun but to carry a concealed gun the state wants to make sure you know the law and know how to use a gun plus you are not one of those wackos. All you need to is take a CHL class and pass, apply for a CHL permit to the State of Texas and if you pass the background check and you paid the fee they will send you your license. Easy if you are one of the GG's.

:cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Not in Texas. Here you have a God given right to own a gun but to carry a concealed gun the state wants to make sure you know the law and know how to use a gun plus you are not one of those wackos. All you need to is take a CHL class and pass, apply for a CHL permit to the State of Texas and if you pass the background check and you paid the fee they will send you your license. Easy if you are one of the GG's.

:cool:
Just for clarification, Rhode Island is a shall/may issue state. Like most states, you need to take a gun safety course, qualify, and have a clean record. If you go to your local police chief and meet all requirements, they shall issue. Unfortunately, many of the chiefs require a psychological profile at an additional cost to the applicant of ~$300. The Attorney General Office may issue depending on their interpretation of your need and/or the phase of the moon.
Requesting a pistol permit for self defense or to exercise your rights under the Second Amendment will immediately send your application to the circular file.
It's a strange little place to live.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,043 Posts
I know what you mean, I was born and raised in NYC and have a couple of girlfriends in R.I. plus other surrounding areas but that was a whole lot of years ago.
:rolleyes:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
In WI, $75 for safety class, $50 for licence. No qualifications or mental health check. State has to aprove (or deny) within 30 days.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top